Watercolor Basics

Simple Beach Scene

I worked on a simple beach scene last night.  It didn’t take very long.  I like the rich colors.  However, not very watercolery.

Beach scene using bold, pure colors.

It’s quite busy and rather flat.  It was a good practice piece drawing people, a bike rider and dogs. It took me all of about 30 minutes to paint it.  I think the girl on the left in the bikini is quite muscular and leggy!  lol.

To me, many of my paintings remind me of what I painted in the 3rd grade.  It looks quite amateurish.  I’m going to continue to work at it however, and hopefully, by the end of the year, I’ll graduate to high school level art work!

My journey continues.

So, for my next project, I’m going to work on just color, gradients and tones.

I also have some great news. I’ll be doing a 3 day workshop in June of this month with Daniel Marshall to learn color mixing and other valuable information concerning watercolor. I’ve been doing a lot of experimenting in colors and washes, but I want to learn a more constructive approach to painting. This will be my first workshop, so to speak. I also signed up for a workshop with Iain Stewart in October. So I look forward to starting my journey and instruction.

Atmospheric Mood by Zbukvic

So for these upcoming workshops, I’m going to go back to my bible, the book by JZ on Mastering Atmosphere & Mood in watercolor.  I’ll start with some color mixing and examples in my next few posts for practice.

Also, I’m quite excited about ordering some new Daniel Smith paints and JZ brushes, which should arrive in the next week.

Happy painting.

Leave a Reply

