Masters Highlights, Watercolor

30 days and 50 Paintings: The works of Dan Mondloch

I came across a really good blog the other day, and another great painter of watercolor.  Thought I would share his latest blog post, which hit home for me.

Many of us struggle with watercolor.  For me, it has been not only practicing to improve my technique, but understanding watercolor, how it works, the process of composition, seeing your subjects in a different light and not always painting exactly what you see.  Well, you know what I mean.  The journey is a little different for all of us, but the process of learning and getting better, improving is similar in many ways.  For all of us, it’s means practice and persistence.

Dan summarizes this very well in his post, entitled “Learning to Paint – Embracing the Struggle”.

Dan’s work is unique in his own way.

“I’m a third generation painter of landscapes in watercolor, following in the footsteps of my parents and great grandfather. I love the outdoors. Exploring new things, feeling the mood of a place, and being in awe of the simple beauty of light all inspire me to paint. I started painting in high school under the mentorship of my dad, then I went to college to become an art teacher. My last semester I switched to a BFA in painting. Then I painted houses for a while. Three years ago I hung up the big brush for the little brush and thanks all of your support, I haven’t looked back since. Currently I am freelance, doing art shows and exhibitions, teaching around the state of MN, and doing the occasional mural. I am fascinated with watercolor painting and art in general, and feel fortunate to be able to have a life making things.” (Facebook page)

Lately, he has embarked on a project called “30 days/50 paintings”.

“Dan Mondloch is a fiscal year 2017 recipient of an Artist Initiative grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board. This Activity is made possible by the voters of Minnesota through a grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the arts and cultural heritage fund.”

 


LINKS

Dan Mondloch Website
Dan Mondloch Blog – Beyond the Easel
Dan Mondloch Facebook
Dan Monloch Instagram

Leave a Reply

